Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera

endless experiments with small things that bring joy to life

Two Apple Coffee Cakes

Leave a comment

My favorite kind of apple is Granny Smith, but I can never finish one on my own.  To remedy that situation, I often use them for baking. I recently tried out two great coffee cake recipes that involve apple.  First one has a layer of apple slices atop the cake, and the second one resembles a more traditional coffee cake with a layer of crumb on top.

The recipe with apple slices is from Simply Recipes.  The one I baked was a bit different from the recipe.  The recipe intended an apple layer in the center of the cake, but I layer the slices on top.  This modification is not out of creative initiative, but my misreading of the recipe.  One slight modification I made to the recipe is that I did not sprinkle all of the cinnamon sugar onto the cake; instead, I only put approximately 1/8 of a cup.  Despite my mistake, the cake still turned out decent.  It is not overly sweet, and you can still taste the tartness of the apple.

IMG_2308
Ready to bake!

IMG_2309
finished product.  The aroma of cinnamon even entices me, who is not a worshipper of it.

The second recipe is from Cooks.com.  Comparatively, it is sweeter than the first recipe, but still not as sweet as coffee cake you see in bakeries.  It rises more than the first one as well, given that it has both baking soda and baking powder.
I used the apple filling that was left over from my Cuor di mela experiment, and cinnamon sugar from the first coffee cake recipe you see here.  It pairs very well with black coffee or tea.
IMG_2318

IMG_2321

IMG_2329

What is your favorite apple pastries?

Leave a Reply

