Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera

endless experiments with small things that bring joy to life

Birthday card for my sister

Leave a comment

This year so far, I have been making cards for friends and family for birthdays ad other holidays.  One persistant problem is that I rarely finish and send out the cards in time.   Just imagine the rabbit from Alice in Wonderland that is running late, yes, that is me. 
Very surprisingly, I actually planned ahead while making my sister’s birthday card.  Since her Chinese zodiac sign is rat, it is a no brainer that I chose a mouse motif for her card.  The fun discovery I made was to blend watercolor pencil with the few Copic markers I have.  The result was this intense and rich hue, as you can see on the candles on the front of the card.
Materials used
  • Bazzill Basics Paper in blue
  • Canson Mi-Teintes drawing paper in ivory
  • Martha Stewart corner and edge punches
  • Rubber and acrylic stamps
  • Derwent Watercolor pencils
  • Copic markers
  • Royal Talens gouache in bronze
  • Brause blue pumpkin nib
Glad to report that she likes the card!

Leave a Reply

