Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera

endless experiments with small things that bring joy to life

Peach Pie

Leave a comment

I have this odd fascination with pies; it must be the flaky pie crust.  Since peaches are in season, I decide to catch the end of the summer by baking a peach pie.  For the pie filling, I follow Smitten Kitchen’s recipe and for the pie dough, I use Simply Recipe’s.  
Putting the lattice top onto the pie

Egg wash the lattice top

Pinch and trim extra parts.

Voilà!  Lovely peach pie.

Here is the addendum (of course, I have to alter the recipes):  instead of lightly poaching the peach to peel the skin, I just peel them and toss them in the spice mixture and let baking do the rest of the cooking.  The recipe suggests 1/2 cup of brown and granulated sugar combine, but I only use 1/8 cup of brown sugar, since the peaches are very sweet and juicy to begin with.  Last note, the pie tastes a lot better 1-2 days AFTER the baking.  Odd, isn’t it?  I am unsure why, but I speculate all the flavors sink into the pay after a period of rest.

Leave a Reply

