Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera

endless experiments with small things that bring joy to life

Cable iPad sleeve

Leave a comment

One of my pet peeves is to have scrap yarn around, but since I usually liberally estimate yarn required for a project, it is almost inevitable that I would have some left and more.  Because of that, I am always on the look out for small projects that can utilize all the extra yarn.  
This particular one used up some of leftover yarn from my potato chip scarf.  It is meant for an iPad sleeve.  Since I already have a bluetooth keyboard that covers the screen, I just need a sleeve that will protect the back cover while the device sitting miserably in my crowded tote.
The cast-on method I used is called Judy’s Magic Cast-on.  It is a great method because the project will turn out seamless.  It might be a tad daunting at the beginning, but after some practices, it is quite fascinating to see how everything comes together!
Little crescent at the beginning

Okay, I see a bag now
With the device
Without the device

This is also my first attempt in cable knitting.  Conceptually it can be complex and difficult, but it is not so bad once you get a hang of it.

Cabling close up
blocking the flap

Interested in making one on your own?  Here is the pattern.

Leave a Reply

