Recreation: Pot Roast

Recreation: Pot Roast

I am not a great cook in that I do not often create original recipes; my only saving grace is that I often looking for new recipes to try out.  From the attempts, I can draw out new ideas to implement on other dishes.

Though I enjoy the process of cooking, there are times I just do not want to hovering over the stove for hours and finishing the meal in 30 minutes.  While perusing through all the culinary blogs, I found one that involves short preparation time and little taking care time:  pot roast.

Given that I prefer fully utilizing what is available in my refrigerator and pantry without acquiring any one-time-use-only ingredients, I keep my search to very basic pot roast and I find one at Simply Recipes.  By the way, Simply Recipes has a wide array of wonderful recipes; it saved me several times in the past when I experienced culinary aneurysm.

You will find the original recipe here.  Surprisingly, I did not alter the recipe much, besdies adding celery to the vegetables.  The original recipe indicates that the cooking time is rought 3-4 hours, but it takes me a bit longer, given that I did not start cooking until early evening.  I cooked it for about 3 hours the first day, and continue onto the next.  Because I let it sit overnight, all the acid in the red wine has the chance to tenderize the meat.  The roast comes apart during the next day of cooking.

I understand that some people immediately trim off fat when they see it, but here is something to remember:  fat = flavor.  If there is excess amount of fat, trim a portion of it.  If no fat is left on the roast, it is very possible that the meat will chew and taste like wood.  This recipe only asks for 2 tablspoon of oil to brown the meat, and the rest is all depending on the marbling on the roast.

Since Simply Recipes describes the steps in-depth, I will just to a pictorial rendition of them.

Ingredients:

  • Chuck roast– the one I chose was about 2.5-3 lbs
  • Italian seasoning
  • salt
  • pepper
  • bunch of carrots
  • celery
  • 3-4 medium onions, sliced
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, mashed.
  • 2Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of red wine
  • 1 bay leaf
Rub salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning to the roast.  Set it aside
 While chopping vegetables, heat up the Dutch oven over medium low heat.  Once it is heated, add olive oil into the pot.  You want to make sure the oven is heated, so you will hear the sizzling sound while browning the meat.
Put the roast in the oven.  Do not disturb the meat while browning.

Brown each side for about a minute or so, then switch sides.

Do not forget the sides!
Once all sides are done, remove the roast and place it on a plate.

Add sliced onion first.  Follow by carrots, celery, and garlic once the onion is browned.

Once all vegetables are tender, place the roast on top of the vegetables.  Add in red wine.

Roast after one hour of cooking.  Do you see all the juice?
Roast after 2 1/2 hours of cooking

The next day.  Do you see that the roast comes apart?

How would I do differently next time?  So far, the roast smells very nice, with a robust aroma.  The onion can be substituted with pearl onion.  If you are allergic to wine, I imagine you can drop slices of apple in, given that apple’s acid will tenderize meat as well.  In addition, the apple will give a slight different flavor.

Leave a Reply

