Falling Water Scarf

Falling Water Scarf

Remember my Christmas goal that I would make most gifts by hand?  The result was not too shabby, but provided that I was still pretty green in knitting, I did not get all the gifts out on time.  This waterfall scarf is one of them.  The particular challenge in this project is that I am gifting to a person whom I have been talking to, but have never met.  The only clue I was given was a list of colors she likes.

Another challenge is more innate:  I just have problem counting.  You figure I have 10 fingers and 10 toes that counting should not be a hindrance, but I had to restart this project several times because I made counting mistakes, about 7 times to be exact.  Counting mistake is somewhat detrimental in lace project, since the mishap will make the pattern look weird, or add and subtract total of cast-on.  To avoid further tragedy of restarting the project from the very beginning, I used the stitch markers to delimit the border from the lacy pattern.  Perhaps with the reminder of these markers, I became more conscious in counting, and it facilitated the correcting process.

One note about the yarn I use.  It is a Cascade yarn made with 50% wool and 50% alpaca.  I know one notable complaint of wool is that it can be scratchy, so when I saw this yarn, I assume the alpaca would help.  Another reason why I selected this yarn is the color.  As you can see the picture below, it has a striking similarity to Rhodia orange.  Since my friend is a die-hard stationery aficionado, she would understood the implication.  I had a great experience working with the yarn.  Soft and subtle to touch, and easy to knit.

One thing about lace knitting is that gentle blocking is needed to open up the pattern, and this one is not an exception.  Here are some pictures taken during the blocking process:

Here is how the scarf looks after it is dry:

This pattern is called falling water.  If you enlarge the pictures, you should see how the pattern portrays droplets of water.  If you are looking for a clean and simple lace pattern to knit, you may find the pattern here.

Interest in seeing my friend Azizah’s feedback?  You may find how she and her Ragdoll, Tyco, enjoy the scarf here.

6 thoughts on “Falling Water Scarf

  1. Thank you for the compliment, Julie! If you already know how to crochet, knitting should be easier for you to pick up. I learned how to knit with YouTube and a DIY book, so I am confident that you can do it too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

