Mango Cake (Mangokuchen)

Mango Cake (Mangokuchen)

The first mango that I had for I could remember was a green one.  It was before my sister was born, my dad took my mom and me to the countryside.  While he was checking tea out, my mom and I found this mango tree in the wild.  She picked a ripe one from the tree, peeled it, and handed it to me.  It was probably one of the tinniest mango I have seen, the kern occupied about 98% of the fruit.  As I bite in to the flesh, the kern immediately looked like a hairy monkey, due to the high fiber content in wild mangoes.  It was the juiciness and aroma that won me over.  Take a whiff of it, you would be encapsulated.   From that moment, I have a thing for mango.  Though I have never have any mango that came close to this little unassuming one, the fragrance still lingered in my palates.

I spotted this recipe while I was doing my routine reading of Küchengötter newsletter.  Mango in winter? It is definitely something to brighten up the gloomy days.  Even snow will make everything better by now.

Ingredients

  • 300g flour
  • 150g cane sugar
  • 100ml Raps oil
  • 1 orange (≈ 200g)
  • 2 mangoes
  • 11/2 tsp baking powder
  • 4 eggs
  • 2-3 Tbsp coconut flakes

Adopted from this recipe on Küchengötter

If you have read this blog long enough, you will anticipate that I am tweaking the recipe to fit what I have in my refrigerator and pantry.  Here are the adjustment:

  •  Since I do not have cane sugar, I use half white/ half brown. 
  • Raps oil is extra virgin Canola oil.  I substitute it with vegetable oil.
  • It is difficult to find ripe mangoes this time of the season.  Thanks to Trader Joe’s, I purchased frozen mango puree awhile back.  Each pack of mango puree is roughly one mango.
  • To put the entire orange in good use, I incorporated some zest in the cake as well.
Directions: (the proper and unadjusted one)
  • Preheat oven to 200˚C (approximately 400˚F)
  • Incorporate all the dry ingredients.
  • Juice the orange and pour the juice into the mixture.
  • Mix in the eggs, one by one.  Follow by oil.
After one egg
With all eggs and oil
  • Pour the batter into the pan.
  • Dice mango into 1cm cubes (1cm is approximately .4 inch), and place the cubes into the batter.
After adding and mixing mango puree
  • Sprinkle coconut flakes on top of the batter.
Ready to bake!
  • Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until the fork can be pulled out clean when you poke the thickest part of the cake.
In the version I attempted, I mixed in the mango puree after everything is incorporated.
Done!  
The texture of this cake is very similar to banana nuts bread.  I do not know whether it supposed to be like this, but it is not as sweet as usual cakes.  The toasted coconut and faint mango aroma will take you to the tropics!
Leave a Reply

