Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera

endless experiments with small things that bring joy to life

Rick-Rack Scarf

Leave a comment

One of my goals in this holiday seasons is to make as many handmade gifts as possible.  I cannot claim I am altogether successful, but I have some attempts.  Until today, I have completed two shawls, one neckwarmer, and one scarf.  Overall, I like the holiday crafting experience because it is fulfilling and it provides a outlet for my stresses from life.  Though in most circumstances I would fret when the deadline approaches, I did not experience much of it in this undertaking.  I knew from the beginning that I probably will be able to send out half of these homemade gifts on time, and it is more important to done a precise job than a haphazzard one.

I learned the rick-rack scarf pattern from Purl Bee, a wonderful website that gives many crafting ideas, such as sewing, crocheting, and knitting.  There are couple reasons why I chose this pattern over others.  It is a simple but elegant design.  Since I chose Galway Paint by Plymouth, a multicolor yarn, a clean pattern will showcase the nice colors over a more complex one.  I was drawn to the yarn because of the poppy orange.  I would not know what colors would go with that vibrant orange, but the color combination of this yarn is ingenious.  It definitely came out a lot better than I expected.  In addition, the recipient is a guy friend of mine in Holland.  My assumption is that men are less willing to wear some lacey motif scarf than a simple one that will do its purpose. Lastly, since I am still relatively new to knitting, the last thing I want is to redo the pattern 3-5 times before I can get a hang of it. 

This pattern involves only knit and purl, but with a bit more variation.  For the right side, you start knitting from the second stitch from the back without dropping the stitch, then knit the first stitch as you normally would.  The wrong side is the reverse, where you purl the second stitch first without dropping the stitch, then purl the first as normal.  Purl Bee’s photographic illustration is much better than my barebone description here.  One of the best features of the pattern is that even if you make a mistake on a row, it can be fixed relatively easily, instead of unravel what you have done. 

The finished result is that you will have a textured side (the right side), and a flat side (the wrong).  In my opinion, this scarf can be reversible, if you like the very simple stockinette look on the back.  The textured side feels very fluffy so if one wear it reversely, it will envelop the neck well. 

The most important thing is… I really hope the recipient enjoys the scarf as much as I do in making!

Leave a Reply

