Mistake Stitch Scarf

Mistake Stitch Scarf

I often buy things for no good reasons.  Many times I would hear my inner struggle on certain purchases, and one of the most common “winning” argument was:  but that color was simply stunning!  If I recall correctly, I have been doing that ever since I was a kid.  As you may remember from my previous post, my mother started to knit when I was around 3 or 4.  I often tagged along when she went to the market, and there was a vendor who sold foreign goods.  At that time, most of the foreign goods traveled to Hong Kong and many vendors would do their purchases there every so often.  My mom would stop at the vendor’s stall, perusing through all the beautiful yarns on her stand.  While my mom hesitated and pondered whether she really needed yet another skein of yarn, I said, “but mommy, that yarn sparkled!  Look at all the shimmer coming from the yarn!”  I was probably a better salesperson than the vendor herself.  Needless to say, my mom bought the yarn and later made a sweater for me.

As I started learning to knit,colors are always the element that get me into troubles.  This project is not an exception.  I want to knit a scarf for my sister, since she always gets cold in winter.  When I saw the listing on Cascade Luna (the yarn you see below), I thought the pink-purplish color will go well with her complexion.  Since it was only week 2 of my knitting endeavor, I had to find a pattern that was simple enough for me to handle.  Luckily, I found one on Purlbee that only involve knit and purl.  As I happily knitted away, I realized some fundamental mistakes.  One, Luna is cotton yarn.  If cashmere usually provided just enough warmth for my sister, cotton would not cut it for her.  Two, I did not have enough yarn for a full scarf!  Time for change of plan.  Now this scarf will be for the Little Hummingbird.  Her body temperature usually runs like a furnace, so this scarf should be adequate to block off wind and cold during winter.  Now I just need to salvage for my mistake number 2 to finish off this project. 

If you are interested in this simple scarf, here is the pattern, thanks to Purlbee. 

PS.  This scarf is finished on October 1.  Finally!  Maybe little pom poms at the end?

Mistake stitch scarf, 2/3 of the way done?

Mistake stitch scarf close up
3 thoughts on “Mistake Stitch Scarf

Leave a Reply

