My take on Obama Chili

My take on Obama Chili

I like chili, but I do not like beans.  It is almost like an oxymoron, but I still did not like it after I try it.  Most of the canned chili sold on the market lack vegetables, so I decide to make chili from scratch to compensate that short coming.  I searched on the Internet and came across Obama family recipe of chili.  It looked pretty promising, and that embarked my adventure on chili making.
First time making it, I put way too much ground beef in there, and I forgot to adjust the amount of spice in respect of increasing meat.  The chili came out decent, but it was not as thick as the canned ones.  I looked at the recipe again to see what other adjustment I could of made.  This time, I put 1 pound of ground beef in, but more tomatoes.  I have used only two last time, but half can of Roma tomatoes from Trader Joe’s plus two fresh tomatoes.  So far, it looks and smells better than last time.  Consistency wise, it is not as soupy, but hearty.  After I taste it, I would know what other adjustments I can make to better this simple recipe 🙂
Here is the recipe, if you are interested:
Ingredients
  • 1 lbs. of ground beef
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • half of a large green bell pepper, chopped (if you want to have spicy chili, you can substitute it with one chili pepper)
  • 1 stalk of celery, chopped
  • 1/2 can of whole tomato (I usually just tear the stewed tomato by, so all juice will be in the chili, not the cutting board.  If you don’t like the seed, de-seed them before adding them to the stew)
  • 2 fresh tomatoes, chopped.
  • 3-5 cloves of garlic, finely minced
  • olive or vegetable oil
  • 1 Tablespoon of chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of the following spices:  oregano, turmeric, cumin, and basil
  • 3 tablespoon of red wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper to season
  1. In a large pot, put enough oil to sweat the chopped onion, bell pepper, and celery.  
  2. When the onion is lightly browned, add the minced garlic.  Don’t burn the garlic, it will leave a bitter aftertaste.
  3. When all vegetables are softened, add ground beef and make sure the meat is separated.
  4. Add the stewed tomato into the mixture.
  5. When the canned tomatoes become incorporated, add in the chopped fresh tomato.
  6. In a separate small bowl, mix all spices, and add it to the mixture.
  7. Once spices are evenly stirred, add in red wine vinegar.
  8. Simmer chili in low heat for 2-3 hours.  You may garnish with shredded cheese or chopped cilantro.

    One thought on “My take on Obama Chili

    Leave a Reply

    